My New Sewing Machine

In effort to ignore the fact that I still haven’t finished my write up on my Three Favorite Bushcraft Items that Stick over at Stick’s Blog challenged me to by tagging me in his post, I’m going to talk about the newest piece of gear I have gotten.  So without further ado I introduce…

DSCN6610

My New Sewing Machine!!!!!!

Yeah I know, total surprise.  The title didn’t give it away or anything :) .  The amount of sewing I do, especially for backpacking, I was in need of a new sewing machine.  Richard was sweet enough (with many promises of making lots of gear and things to sell) let me splurge on a very nice Babylock machine called Grace.  For those of you who don’t know, Babylock is the same company that makes Brother sewing machines, but Babylock is their elite line and Grace is the machine that is designed for people who do a lot of sewing with many different types of fabric and styles.  It’s a far more durable machine than my previous one and, with proper maintenance and care, should last me a decade, maybe more!

Now just in case you’re thinking about a new machine, I’ll warn you, Babylocks and other top of the line machines like this one are not for the beginner and is not always needed for people who aren’t planning on making more ambitious projects.  Even someone who has been sewing their whole life (like me), may have to take a class to know how to really take care of, and best use such a machine.  Which is exactly what I will be doing before I get into my bigger projects (can anyone say shelter? :D ).  In fact, I recommend anyone wanting to make gear take a beginner’s sewing class.  You can usually find one at a local sewing shop and if you find a shop you like, they can usually help you find a great machine that will work for the types of projects you do.  If you work with some of the UL fabrics like M50, M90, 1.1 Silnylon and even Cuben Fiber, it’s not a bad idea to take some scraps in with you to help make your decision.  Most people in the sewing world haven’t heard of many of the fabrics UL backpackers use and it is so much more helpful to have a sample than trying to explain what M50 is.  A good shop should even let you try a machine out with your specialty fabrics.  This is the same process that I used to pick out my new sewing machine and it was extremely helpful!DSCN6603

It will take a few weeks before I’ll be able to show off my list of gear projects I have waiting for this machine, but I’m hoping over the rest of the year to get to show many new gear items that will be one of a kinds made by yours truly!  As you can see, Mom and I had a lot of fun reading the manual and learning all the fun things my sewing machine can do.  We spent all afternoon trying things out and I still don’t know everything it can do.  If you love sewing projects, farm life, and DIY projects, you can check out my mom’s blog at Imagine It’s Finished.  If you read it and end up wondering, I’m Daughter #2.

 

 

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 16/08/2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great article! Hope you enjoy your new machine, and make lots of cool gear with it! :)

  2. Ohh nice!!! Look forward to hearing how you like your new sewing machine, and how it works with those materials. Good advice about taking a sewing class- did that when I first got my serger (a Babylock too- really sweet machines), but now I wish I’d taken more.

    • Thanks! It worked really great in store so I’m pretty confident that this machine will be able to handle the wacky fabrics nicely. My mom’s got the Elizabeth machine and has taken the class twice… She’s taking it again with me. You can never take too many sewing classes!

Leave a Reply

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips) **Facebook.com/MattWalshBlog

Martin Rye

Backpacking the wild places

CenAZwalker

. . . it's all just walkin'

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

East West Farm is a small family farm in West Metro Atlanta.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing Svadhayaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." -Leo Tolstoy

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Acorn Hikes the PCT

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

Exploring Ontario By Paddle

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

Esoteric Hyperbole

Musings, Rants, Ponderings

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

The Official Makais.com Company Blog

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

Overly Ambitious Me

Hiking, backpacking, snowshoeing, paddling, running, etc.,

HikeLighter.Com

HikeLighter.Com is all about SUL and XUL hiking!

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock. -e.a.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Outside 365 - Ultralight Dirtbagging

Ultralight Backpacking; short, long, and of an addictive nature.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

Take a Long Hike

For all Hikers, Backpackers, and Campers---by Ray Anderson

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

