Hey Everybody!!

Hello All,

My name is Joslyn and I hike with my husband Richard (we are still looking for our trail names 🙂 ).  We live in North Georgia and love getting outside.  We have two dogs, Dakota and Jäger, but they don’t get to come with us as much as we’d like on our outdoor adventures.  Dakota is my 13 year old dog I have had since I was a little girl and Jäger is our 3 year old Miniature Dachshund which is why neither of them come with us very often.

Richard grew up here, but me, I am west coast born and raised.  In my life I have done a lot of back country camping and off road adventures.  My family has been actively Civil War Reenacting once a month for 10 years now and it is a whole ‘nother world from the big city I spent every other day of the year.  It’s a world where dinner came out of a dutch oven; sleeping with nothing more than a canvas tent, two wool blankets, and a bed of straw was normal; and a Port-a-john was a luxury.  It never occurred to me to complain though or want to stay home, I was having way too much fun!  I was seeing some amazing places and spending time with some of the most unforgettable people I have ever met.  So when Richard and I moved to Georgia in 2009 and I found out that a majority of the population I was now living with thought camping was getting in the RV, heading to the local state park, and taking the kids down to the pool; I couldn’t do it.

Now don’t get me wrong, the people I lived with in my big city probably thought the same thing, but it just wasn’t the attitude I was accustomed to at all.  So I went searching for something that felt familiar.  I’m sure you can guess what I found.  That Christmas, Richard got a seasonal job at REI, a store that was completely new to me since the things we bought for my last hobby usually came from a store operating out of a caravan canvas tent.  I stepped inside and discovered a whole new world not so different from my own.  I was as giddy as the proverbial kid in a candy store; every piece of gear was a new adventure and another thing I just had to try.  Now I don’t have to tell most of you there is really nothing so special about REI and I have walked into it and many other backpacking stores since then without so much as a twinkle, but as I’m sure you are also probably aware, it had very little to do with the store itself.  It was the magic of coming face to face with the hobby of my dreams.  That thing I could throw myself into, daydream about at work and strive to do as much as possible.  I was hooked from the moment I saw that first pack hanging on the wall.

Thus began my love affair with backpacking.  It was realized in the skip of a heartbeat and wholeheartedly embraced in seconds.  The idea of ultralight backpacking came much slower.  I was nervous and a bit skeptical at first; many are.  But the more I learned, the more I just knew; I never wanted to set foot on a trail loaded down with a traditional pack.  I didn’t want to see the world with heavy, begrudging feet, and I couldn’t stand the thought of looking at my pack with disgust not wanting to put it on, or deciding not to check out what was on top of an unplanned mountain because I’d have to lug my gear up it.

2008 hit us hard and we are in no way rich.  In fact most people would classify us as poor.  Every dollar counts and we don’t have any just laying around.  Still we are refusing defeat and are fighting for our right to enjoy our free time in the manner we choose.  It’s not been easy.  We have been squirreling away gear and pestering family to give us nothing but backpacking equipment.  I have been yelled at more than once “Joslyn could we just not talk about backpacking again!?”.  Now, a year and a half after our dream was born, we are preparing to take our first steps, those essential, beautiful baby steps on our first backpacking trip. I can’t wait…

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 11/03/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing svadhyaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." Leo Tolstoy

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

Sports + Outdoors

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

HikeLighter.Com

"sub 2268 hiking" ~ John Abela

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

