My Birthday Present!!!

So my birthday present is our upcoming trip but my husband also wanted to give me something physical too.  So we went to REI with our dividend and he let me pick out my first pair of trekking poles!  I’ve always had a hiking stick but these are my first poles and I am so excited about getting to use them next week!  I purchased the  Leki Khumbu Aergon SpeedLock Trekking Poles.  It is a discontinued 2010 version of the new 2011 poles from their Performance Mountain Trek line.  The SpeedLock doesn’t seem to be a popular feature for a lot of people but I personally am inept when it comes to using the internal twisting kind.  No matter how hard I try it never seems to work.  So I prefer the external lock design.  I’ve tried them out on several day hikes already and love them!

These poles are made of aluminum with rubber handles that feature air vent holes that allow cool air to reach your palms to prevent over sweating.  This is good since I’m hiking in humid Ga and I went with aluminum as I am planning on using these poles till they break and we are intending to go off trail in the future.  They collapse to 70 cm and extend to 145 cm but I’m 5′ 2.5″ and so far I’ve never had to take them past 125 and only then when going downhill.  As with any multi-sectioned pole you can put either section as any length you want to achieve the overall height you’re looking for, but as with most of the poles I’ve seen there are markings that make getting to your adjustment easy and quick once you know the length that is right for you in the terrain you’re hiking in.  On more or less level terrain I leave them at 110 cm which is the lowest marked length.

I got the white pair for a bit more of a feminine look as well as because they were $20 off.  If you don’t know anything about REI membership let me explain a little.  It’s a co-op store and you get 10% back on all full priced items you buy called a dividend, as well as access to a super members only used gear sale twice a year.  When the dividends come out in March you also get a 20% off members only one use coupon that has to be used on a full priced item.  So when I found out that the poles were 20% off anyway I used my dividends on the poles and still get to use my yearly coupon on something else (hopefully a sleeping pad).  So the poles were originally $100.00 and I paid $57.00 for them which was one of the only reasons I was able to get them.

Right now the adjustable wrist loops are stiff, but that is good since it means they probably won’t slip without some real effort and I can keep them at my desired length.  The loops themselves are very cushioned and comfy.  The fact that they are adjustable is something I didn’t consider important until I got them home and started playing around with it.  Having the loops set just right increase the comfort noticeably.  Another thing I didn’t consider important is that these poles are Unisex.  I just picked the poles I liked best in our price range.  I wasn’t necessarily determined to get one or the other.  I am naturally wide in my shoulders, hips and wrists and have frustrations with many things that just don’t accommodate a woman who is short and stocky at a healthy weight.  The wrist straps being adjustable and unisex let me decide what is comfortable to me and have a much wider adjustable range than the women specific poles I have tried out in store.  Also I noticed that the handle grips are also more comfortable to me and my fingers don’t feel as cramped in the finger grooves.  I never noticed the difference till I got them home, but I am sure glad I went with the unisex poles.

The last thing I wanted to mention is the weight.  They are listed at 19.4 oz but I weighted them at 22 (I don’t really trust my scale though).  A lot of UL Backpackers seem really concerned about the weight of their trekking poles and while I agree it’s good to be weight conscious about it, I’m not entirely sure I feel that it’s something I will worry too much about.  My requirements for a trekking pole was 1. a brand I trust 2. a length that was going to work for me 3. a comfortable handle and wrist strap 4. overall durability.  If I came in under a pound doing that in my current price range then all the better, but weight is something I feel willing to sacrifice on for a pole I love.  I coddle and baby a lot of my gear, but I need a pole I can really beat up and for me that means getting a Leki Aluminum pole.  I do wish I could have gotten cork handles but the price was just not in our budget this time.  For trail only hiking (aka my AT trip) I’d love to have the Leki Cressida Aergon SpeedLock poles which also feel a little better suited for larger hands despite being a woman specific pole, but I’m really happy I got a set of poles with rubber hand grips for my all around poles.

I’ll be posting a proper review in a few weeks under the Gear Review section.  So far I’m really happy with these poles!

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 27/03/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ray Anderson

    These look like great trekking poles. I’ve had some trouble with the twisting of poles to lock and unlock them. Next time I’m going to try the SpeedLock feature.

    • Yep, I love them! I’m also very bad at remembering left from right without thinking about it and even worse at remembering righty tighty lefty loosey so the internal lock thing was just doomed for me. With external locks I just slide the pole out snap the lock down and go! I know they weigh a little more but it’s worth it to me to not be standing out in the middle of a trail swearing at my poles! 🙂

Leave a Reply

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing svadhyaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." Leo Tolstoy

Katesurfs.com

Natural Parenting Blog

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

Esoteric Hyperbole

Musings, Rants, Ponderings

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

Sports + Outdoors

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

HikeLighter.Com

sub 2268 hiking

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

