MYOG – Pot Cozy

Okay so I was trying to get all of my most recent MYOG all together for one big post but the stoves are taking longer than I expected.  So I’m putting up this pot cozy I made in the meantime.  The good news is everyone can look forward to a fairly detailed series of posts on home made alcohol stoves!  But without any mroe adieu here is the pot cozy I made for my 830ml Snow Peak Mug from the Hybrid Cook Set.  I made it out of Reflectix Insulation that I got from Lowes.  I went to Home Depot first but they not only didn’t have it but they looked at me like I had to heads, so I wouldn’t reccomend going there.

I used basic duct tape Instead of measuring my pot I went ahead and laid my pot on the Reflectix cut a strip the height of my pot and then wrapped it around the mug, removed mug then cut and taped the two edges together.  I then cut out and taped the handle hole.  Now the biggest thing I’d like to say about taping the bottom on, The Reflectix is a bit thick  and if you don’t account for that in the height of the sides you can find yourself with a cozy that is just a little too short.  To solve this problem I found leaving a little extra on the bottom to nest the bottom disk in and then also have the top come up ever so slightly over the top too gives you a little extra to work with that if you feel is too high you can shave off instead of living with something that is not quite right.

The next thing is to cut a circle and tape it to the bottom.  How you do it is not really that important but I did it by putting a circle of tape around the bottom of the side and then cutting little tabs to tape down along the bottom, whatever works for you.  I will say that the Reflectix is really receptive to duct tape and needs very little encouragement to stick so I found you don’t really need to put any tape on the inside to get the bottom to stay put.

Gotta say I love the way this works and it was really great to be able to have a problem and fix it myself.  It was easy and fun to make and only weighs 1 oz.  Also, I got enough Reflectix in the one $12 roll to make as many things as I want out of it, That plus already having the duct tape I probably only spent .50 for this whole thing.

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 17/05/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I recently made a pot cozy out of some materials but in the end it is too heavy for me to actually use, at least backpacking. I did not get the reflectix since the cheapest roll I could find was about $35. Instead, I bought some bubble packaging and some silver duct tape. I taped over the bubble wrap with the tape and then cut out my pieces and taped them all together. I made it for my 0.9 L Evernew cook pot. It is complete with a lid with a lip so that it seals in the entire pot effectively, however, it all weighs somewhere around 3 oz or so! I figure the reflectix would be lighter than all that duct tape, but oh well. It was fun to make, and I can always use it car camping!

    • Yeah, I think the Reflectix probably is lighter since mine came out at 1oz. I saw someone who had made a thinner, lighter one out of a cheap sun cover for a car windshield that I want to try.

  2. Nice work. You can shave a little more weight by using the metallic tape in the HVAC section of most hardware stores. Also, look into the cheap blue foam in the camping department at any department store. It comes in two thicknesses depending on your needs and can be glued together using Barge cement. It tends to last a little longer than the reflectix coozys.
    I really like that you have a MYOG section!

Leave a Reply

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing svadhyaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." Leo Tolstoy

Katesurfs.com

Natural Parenting Blog

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

Esoteric Hyperbole

Musings, Rants, Ponderings

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

Sports + Outdoors

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

HikeLighter.Com

"sub 2268 hiking" ~ John Abela

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

