Taking Pounds Off My Back

The shoes on the left are the Merrel Light Hikers that I had bought when I first started backpacking.  They weigh 1lb 13.3oz and to me that seemed really light and compared to a traditional shoe it was.  They are good shoes for anyone who is starting out and whose pack weight still constitute the need for such hefty shoes.  But now that I have gotten my base pack weight down far enough that I decided to make the switch in my footwear.  Last night I went to my local shoe store to finally buy the pair of trail runners I had been wanting for months.  I got them on sale and with a coupon for half of their original cost.

These are my new Adidas Thrasher Trail Runners!  They weight a total of 1lb 5.8 ounces.  That’s a difference of almost a full half pound.  Now this may not seem like a lot but the math says that 1lb on your feet is equal to 6.5lbs on your back.  When you think about it in these terms my little 1/2lb turns into a whopping 3.25lbs off of what I’m carrying on the trail.  Who wouldn’t love to save 3.25lbs with one simple purchase!

I chose these particular shoes for several reasons one of which is the fantastic color!  Now normally I don’t  care about color, I’ll wear anything in the most absurd colors if it is the right fit, right price and right item for me and my gear systems, but when it came to my shoes I had something in mind that I was looking for in the color.  Specifically I wanted a non light color such as grey or white.  This was to reduce the amount of dirt that is visible.  So they are real winners in that category in this beautiful black and purple with hot pink laces.  Some of the other features are the durable mesh uppers that is broken up by several hard surface materials.  This gives it good breath-ability without sacrificing on durability.  Also the tip of the toe has an extended section of the sole wrapped up around it for good coverage and traction in less than flat areas.  The sole itself is covered in all sorts of terrain gripping nooks and crannies that are made out of a mud resistant material to reduce the amount of junk that gets caught up in the sole that can reduce your traction over time.

 So with all these pros in mind I settled on this shoe which also fell into my price range, costing me an absurdly low $40 after a sale and coupon.  I bought a full shoes size larger than I normally would to give good room for when my feet swell.  Not wanting to get so far away from my purchase date that I could not return them if they did not hold up as advertised, I decided to give them a trail test the very next day.  Meeting JJ from Jermm’s Outside Blog at one of our local trails I set off for a test!  It has rained fairly heavily in the last week here and the trail has a lot of tree cover, making this a great time to test how clean these shoes can stay in some soggy conditions.  As the pictures show these shoes really held up.  Now this was only one test but I’ve hiked in better conditions on the same trail and many shoes have not come out nearly as well.

Now as far as their performance in the comfort category, they also came through this with flying colors!  There is a respectable amount of up and down on the trail I hiked and I have hiked it before in my Merrel’s where I have ended the day with sore toes and pain in my shins.  Not once did I feel that my toes were being smushed, neither was my foot bobbing up and down in the heel, reducing overall leg pain.  The shoe and laces held firmly just above my toes without being constricting.  This kept my foot in place in the shoe without sacrificing room in the toe box or room to loosen the laces for longer hikes when my foot is likely to swell.  To be honest I don’t think me feet have ever felt this great after a hike!  If these shoes have a con, I haven’t found it yet, but only time will tell that.  So far these get 5 stars!

 

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 29/01/2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I got my first pair of trail runners last summer and it is pretty amazing in the difference. I enjoyed wearing them. What really sucked was on the last trip I had to wear the heaviest boots I have worn while backpacking, ironically, with my lightest load… I hated it. They gave me blisters on the back of both of my heels and one deep one on my big right toe…But, I was testing them so I was obligated.

    Anyway, congrats on the move up…or should I say down!

    ~Stick~

    • Thanks! Even though I’ve only been on short day hikes I can already tell a huge difference and can’t wait to give them a true test this spring!

Leave a Reply

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing svadhyaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." Leo Tolstoy

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

Sports + Outdoors

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

HikeLighter.Com

"sub 2268 hiking" ~ John Abela

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

