Marmot Crystalline Rain Jacket Review

The biggest item I asked for this Christmas was a rain jacket and boy did I get a good one!  It wasn’t much of a surprise since I found one heck of a deal on Sierra Trading Post, plus I am on their mailing list so I got a sweet coupon in my email to top it off and was standing there when it was ordered.  I was quite surprised when I realized the jacket I had originally wanted but didn’t think I could afford was on sale so cheap that I got to have it after all!  I originally knew that if I went with a rain jacket instead of some of the other alternatives I wanted the Marmot Crystalline jacket, but at $150 I wasn’t sure it was the best weight to cost ratio.  So I did my research and settled on a second choice of the Golite Malpais Trinity Jacket which has been at the low price of $80 since Golite pulled their products off retail shelves and went to a pure online only store.  They are two very similar jackets and they weigh very close to the same amount, in fact the Marmot weighs slightly more, but there was just a couple things that put the Crystalline at the top of my list.  First is that, while it is very hard to test perfectly and there is no official standardized method of testing, the Crystalline is rated a little better in waterproof and breathability.  Secondly Stick’s review of the GoLite Tumalo Pertex 2.5L Storm Jacket revealed that the cord locks were not actual plastic cord locks on the hood but pieces of foam.  From all the pictures I could see it was the same on the Malpais Jacket as well.  Since I have moved to an area that can be very windy and is definitely likely to have snow and very cold rain, I knew I wanted a jacket that had cord locks I could count on for sure.  Now in the defense of Golite, I have never gotten to see their cord locks up close so I have no idea if they hold in hard wind or not, but I personally wasn’t happy taking the risk.

Like I said though, I didn’t think I could afford the Marmot jacket I really wanted, but when sale ads would pop up, I’d look just in case.  You can’t imagine my surprise when I saw the Marmot Crystalline on sale and I knew I had a %40 off coupon for any item, including sale items.  I clicked on it, knowing for sure the only size they would have left is extra small, when lo and behold the only size they had was large!  I quickly checked to see how much off it would be with my coupon and then adding the shipping back on, sitting at the bottom of the cart page was the most beautiful number I had ever seen… $68.74!  Almost a full $20 less than the Golite jacket would have been with shipping.  I may not have been allowed to open the box until Christmas morning, but it was almost like Christmas had come early anyway.

First some facts about the jacket.  It is made from Marmot’s proprietary 2.5 layer MemBrain® Strata fabric, which is a lightweight 2.5 layer waterproof breathable fabric.  It is seam taped with a water resistant front zipper.  The hood has that great little volume minimizer, aka a piece of velcro and it is a big enough hood to fit a helmet underneath or a puffy hat.  The large comes out to 6.7 oz on my scale and it stuffs into the left hand pocket.  Now to tell you what I LOVE about my new rain jacket!

1. No Pit Zips – The number one thing on my list that I for sure didn’t want, pit zips.  I know, I know, everyone wants pit zips, right?  Well I’ve had them on previous jackets and frankly all they do for me is bruise my arms and sides.  Maybe it’s because I’m a girl or maybe it’s just the way I hike, but I hold my arms too close to my sides for pit zips to be effective.  I just don’t get any real air flow and depending on what kind of zippers they use, the zipper pulls seem to knock against each other often enough to make a hike uncomfortable and I lose a portion of my fluid motion and momentum.

2. Velcro Wrist Closures – Something I have found is that elastic is great when it’s a wind jacket, but something more adjustable is worth the extra weight on a rain jacket!

3. The Fit – I love the way this jacket fits!  Whether I just have a shirt on or my winter base layer, fleece and synthetic vest on, it just fits.  It isn’t too bulky when I just have a shirt on, it doesn’t ride up with all my layers on or compress my insulation and the hood doesn’t fall into my eyes and does stay with my head so that when I turn my head I’m not trying to look at the world through the side of my hood.

4. The Color – I got this jacket in the Berry Bright color.  Now this is the last thing on my list of loves, mostly because it just doesn’t matter.  It doesn’t affect the way the jacket works and honestly I didn’t have much choice since it was the only color left, but knowing I will be hiking in hunting areas and bear areas, I prefer a bright color for my shells that will clearly define me as human.  I will say, if you do care about color, the Berry Bright looks darker in person than it does online.  It is the same color but just about two shades darker.

As much as I love this jacket, nothing is perfect so I will also list the things that I’m not crazy about.

1. The Pockets – The pockets are not mesh and therefore not venting.  It would have been nicer to have mesh pockets instead of pockets made out of the same material as the rest of the jacket especially since there are no pit zips, but it is a minor thing.

2. The Length – It is a good length all around, until it gets to the back.  The back center length is listed as 26.5″ and it is accurate but It would be really nice if it were closer to 28″ instead.  It comes just shy of covering my whole bottom which would have been nice.

Thanks for reading!

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 30/12/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice write up on the jacket! Sounds like you really got what you wanted, and for a sweet price at that!

    As far as the pockets, do you think that you could cut the back of the pockets out and replace them with some mesh? I remember that you were pretty good with a sewing machine…

    Anyway, thanks for sharing, and for the shout out!

    ~Stick~

    • I have been thinking about doing that. I’d like to get some testing in before I start hacking stuff, but it’s definitely on the table!

Leave a Reply

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing svadhyaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." Leo Tolstoy

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

Sports + Outdoors

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

HikeLighter.Com

"sub 2268 hiking" ~ John Abela

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

