The “Real” Big Three: Food

A couple weeks ago I started a series about my “Real” Big Three categories of gear that I think is sometimes forgotten but just as important.  The first thing on my list was clothing, and now the second thing on my list is food!  Everyone knows that a well fed backpacker is a happy backpacker no matter how much weight you like to put in your pack, but sometimes food is more of an afterthought.  In my very humble opinion, food is very easily the most important thing I put in my pack.  It is a backpacker’s fuel for their bodies and when you get past all of the fancy gear and technical stuff, if your body isn’t working, you are not going anywhere.  You could also file water under this but water gets a good amount of attention.  There are three things I think about when I’m prepping my meals for a trip: 1. Calories, 2. Nutrition 3. Weight

Calories is always the first thing I try to think about because calories are what your body runs off of.  So no matter how much it weighs or what it costs, it HAS to provide me with the energy my body needs.  I like to aim at a minimum of 500 calories a meal and then 200-300 in snacks that I eat 1-2 a day depending on how many miles I’m doing which usually gives me a minimum of 2,000 calories a day.  I have a low metabolism, am short, and don’t eat very much on trail so that number will be lower than many people.  Many of the guys I know take anywhere from 2,500 to 3,500 calories a day.

Nutrition is the second thing I consider because I believe that healthier food helps my body run more efficiently than junk food.  With that in mind I try to eat backpacking meals that are made with natural ingredients or I make my own.  There are a few options for nutritious options for pre-made meals Hawk Vittles is my favorite.  But there are also a lot of options for making your own meals.  There are stores like Whole Foods and Sprouts that have pre-dehydrated ingredients that you can make into your own meals and then there are many recipes out there to work with.  Websites like Trail Cooking and Wild Backpacker offer some of the largest repositories of recipes and books like Lip Smakin’ Backpackin’ (My personal favorite!) offer printed recipe collections.

Weight is always important to me in what I carry and food is no exception.  There are so many great foods that are packed with healthy calories that weigh very little. Starches like noodles, rice and other grains that are packed full of healthy and natural calories and they taste great with all kinds of flavors.  Some of the other things that help is adding a variety of dehydrated fruits that have really great sugars that are also really flavorful and healthy.  I dehydrate everything to keep the weight down and it just happens to have the added benefit of making fruits last longer and taste sweeter.  The most recent change I have made is to add 1-2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil of my choice.  I go between Olive oil and Grapeseed oil.  Grapeseed oil has 130 calories per tablespoon and olive oil is fairly close to the same thing.  It is a little bit of weight for a huge punch of energy.

If a meal hits all these marks, it makes it onto my favorites list.  Things like my favorite GORP that hits 500 calories matched with homemade beef jerky that tops the meal out at an average of 700-800 calories is my favorite lunch because I can eat it while hiking and it fits into the hip pockets of my SMD Swift.  Fruit leathers and granola bars make up my favorite snacks.  Red Beans and Rice Wraps and Stir Fry are two of my favorite dinners.  What recipes do you love when you are on the trail?

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 28/01/2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hey Joslyn, nice article!

    I think my favorite hiking meal is spaghetti. It is something that can be eating hot or cold. It is something that you can throw into a container with some water and pre-soak while you are hiking. It takes very little water to reconstitute it. It can pack a lot of calories depending on the noodles you use (I prefer wheat linguini noodles – seem to have the best weight to nutritional value). And if you eat meat, you can really load it up with high protein food (something to many hikers ignore).

    For me, food consumes between one third and one half of my backpack volume space. I hate it, but nothing I have found that I can do about it.

    • Thanks! I think spaghetti is pretty awesome too. I’m glad you mentioned protein, you’re right it is another one of those things that gets ignored. I’m not much of a nut eater so I do have to load up on meats which is one of the biggest reasons I like to take a lot of jerky. There really is just nothing to do about the space food takes up. Maybe someday…

  2. John pretty much hit it with food weight being 1/3 to 1/2 the pack weight, I know it’s true in my case. I eat a lot of nuts, one of my favorite meals is black bean soup that I make and dehydrate. I sit aside some to grind to a fine powder then later add water for a tasty black bean dip with Fritos. I also carry salmon in foil packs to mix with potatoes and pesto. Over the past two years ProBars have been a big part of my food bag.

    • Wow those are some pretty tasty meals JJ! I may have to try my hand at making my own Black Bean Soup soon. I haven’t tried ProBars yet, though I know a lot of people who love them.

  1. Pingback: The “Real” Big Three: Footwear | UltraLight Backpacking or Bust!

Leave a Reply

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing svadhyaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." Leo Tolstoy

Katesurfs.com

Natural Parenting Blog

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

Esoteric Hyperbole

Musings, Rants, Ponderings

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

Sports + Outdoors

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

HikeLighter.Com

sub 2268 hiking

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

