Frustrations of a Trapped Trail Junkie

I want to state first, I love my job.  I get to be outside all day; I have no office or desk; I get to teach kids amazing things about science, outdoor activities, nature, and preserving our world and I love getting to do it.  I think it is important to state this first because what comes next may make a person doubt that truth.  I am also trapped.  There are two places I get to be for my job, on Catalina Island and in the San Bernadino National Forest.  Both have day hikes and long trails, both are places that most people would give anything to live in.  Unfortunately, my job is not a 40 hour a week job.  Since I’m in a camp situation, I start work at breakfast and end well after dark.  I don’t have to be working 100% of that time but I’m “on call” the entire day.  We life in community and the coworkers I have are all that are available.  When things go wrong or something needs done we all pitch in to get it taken care of so it can be a long day, and like those of the medical professions, on call means I can’t leave.  I do have my weekends but it is only long enough to go the same places over and over and I get no paid time off or am really capable of time off at all since I am technically a nomadic seasonal worker, though our season is 9 months long.  So I am, for all intents and purposes, trapped in two of the coolest places a person could be in, getting to see everyone else do the outdoor activities they love without the ability to indulge in my own.

I know I am a gear junkie.  That is something I think all UL, XUL and SUL backpackers have in common.  It is easy to see especially online since it is easy to post about gear.  What I think is somewhat implied, but not always stated, is most people who are in the UL backpacking world are also trail junkies.  In fact I think it is the fact that we are trail junkies first and that is what drives us to taking so much less than the traditional backpacker in the first place.  I am no different.  I love hiking all sorts of different trails in many different environments all over the country and hopefully someday, the world.  It is hard for me to sit in the middle of such amazing beauty, especially our camp in San Bernadino NF, and read of all my friends back in Georgia getting to spend so many days on trail while I am trapped in almost a gilded cage.  I am in an area any backpacker would relish being in but instead of getting to partake, I am stuck, even watching many backpackers a week come though camp on their way to finish the 26 mile trail on Catalina Island.  I do get to do 3-4 day hikes a week and I have no shortage of walking allowed to me, but being a trail junkie is more than just walking or enjoying the activity of hiking, it is the act of exploring and discovery of new places, places most people never get to see.

I get frustrated that my job has brought me closer to the outside world but keeps me off trail more than any other job I’ve had that kept me trapped inside.  I feel sometimes that I’m only playing at being a backpacker instead of getting to actually be a backpacker.  Like an addict, I am suffering from withdrawal.

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 14/04/2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing svadhyaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." Leo Tolstoy

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

Sports + Outdoors

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

HikeLighter.Com

"sub 2268 hiking" ~ John Abela

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

