Sometimes Little Things Make a Big Difference

A few weeks ago I got some of the smaller things I’ve been wanting to get before my JMT hike this fall and thought I’d do a little first look post about two of the things I’ve picked up!

10174800_571856292913691_1227467963_nThe first thing I picked up was a couple of Aqua Clips.  First thing I’d like to say about it is that despite rising shipping costs, they send out these $3 clips with no shipping added.  I don’t know if they’ve figured that into the final $3 purchase price or not, but it was really nice to see my bill was only the $6 dollars that the list price said two would cost.  I’ve been avoiding getting a few of the smaller things because of the shipping costs of getting $10 worth of stuff to my house can end up being $15 or more, so that was a nice surprise right off the bat.  I wanted to try them because I’ve been thinking about my water system and how I might make it work better for me.  When we started out, we used bladders, but I like to add a little bit of flavoring and electrolytes to my water to make it a bit more palatable and to make sure I am staying hydrated.  These kinds of things just don’t do well in the bladder tubes so I started carrying bottles in the side pockets of my pack.  I quickly discovered that this didn’t really work for me either because my arms are too short to bend back and get the water or put it back.  I tried to attach the bottles to my shoulder straps, but that did not last long.  I do not like feeling weight on my shoulders, so that definitely didn’t work.  Then I found out about the Aqua Clip and I had an idea, a brilliantly perfect idea.  I could use them to attach two .5 liter bottles to my hip belt and let all of that weight ride on my hips, but still have good access and not have to worry about my drink mixes clogging up a tube.  I’ve been using these with two smaller Smart Water bottles and my Flash 18 on my training day hikes and so far I’m finally pleased with the water carrying method that I’m using.  These little things got to me so fast, my head was almost spinning.  I think I put the order in on a Friday night and they were at my door on Monday morning.  The really impressive thing about that is I live in a rural area and you can pretty much guarantee an extra day of shipping than if it were a big city.  When they got here, I was surprised to find there were three instead of the two and a letter explaining the third was a gift for posting about the clips on my blog’s Facebook page!  Between the high level of customer service and the fact that these little clips solve a big problem for me, I have to say I am one happy camper.

 

BkQda5ICEAAy4zyThe second thing I picked up was a pair of Dirty Girl Gaiters.  Here in the desert, I need breathable gaiters that still do a great job at keeping out dirt and debris from my socks and shoes and I was told that no one does a better job than Dirty Girl’s.  I’ve got to say, they were right!  I ordered the Spacin’ Out pattern because, aside from being bright, they look really cool and just like a picture of a nebula.   I’m a total space nerd and love that these are not only functional but really show off my personality and passions.  So far in my testing they have done a superb job at keeping my shoes dirt free.  There have even been times where I can feel my feel kicking up loose dirt and it hits the back of my heels, but stays out of my shoes.  The elastic bands at the top had me skeptical at first.  From pictures, they look like they might squeeze your leg.  When I got them on and realized that they didn’t feel tight at all, I was worried that they wouldn’t stay up.  I was pleased to find that after my 6 mile day hike, not only were my legs still un-bothered by their presence, but they were right where they were when I started my hike.  I’ve used them on several hikes now and they are still holding up to their reputation.

I’m really happy that it looks like I’ve solved two of my most frustrating hiking problems and I’m excited to see how they perform on my shakedown trip, but the real test will be in September… 🙂

 

About Joslyn

My name is Joslyn and I primarily hike with my husband Richard. We live in Northern Arizona with our dog, Jäger and love camping and hiking. We are continuing our adventure in backpacking inn this our second year and as always, striving towards going Ultra Light.

Posted on 11/04/2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’d like to see a photo of these bottles on your belt. Im having a hard time picturing how the bottles would not be in the way.

    • Yeah, I was trying to get one, but my husband wasn’t home and I couldn’t get the angle right on my own. I’ll be putting a few more pics in an update on the original post in a day or two. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. You can view Scott with his Aquaclip attached to his belt at http://www.aquaclip.com/aia/index.asp, other convenient places to attach your bottle to the backpack are the shoulder or sternum strap.

  3. Great idea, I am going to try out this bottle solution the next time I go backpacking.

  4. The handles look neat. unfortunately shipping costs gold these days. I have heard that Amazon has a deal where they ship stuff to your house all year long for free if you pay 22 bucks up front once per year. I am not sure, I have only heard about it from my friends, but it seems like a neat deal.

    • The neat thing with this company is, they didn’t add anything for shipping. I ordered 2 at $3 per and my card was charged $6. Also Amazon Prime does give some great shipping options and discounts, bit I think it is $100 a year.

Leave a Reply

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Practicing svadhyaya by reflecting on learnings in yoga class

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

jearsblog

"In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you." Leo Tolstoy

Katesurfs.com

Natural Parenting Blog

twogearguys

A fun look at todays best hiking gear.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

Esoteric Hyperbole

Musings, Rants, Ponderings

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Makais Blog

Sports + Outdoors

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

HikeLighter.Com

"sub 2268 hiking" ~ John Abela

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

paulaslongwalk

Just another WordPress.com site

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

