Daily Archives: 21/07/2011

5 Reasons I Love a Quilt Sleep System

I’ve been going over my dream gear lists and tweaking all my choices and making sure I had everything just the way I wanted and I got to thinking about the reasons why I love a Quilt for my Sleep System. So here are my top 5 reasons I love a quilt!

1. Low Weight: You just can’t get a full mummy sleeping bag at the low weights that a quilt can offer. You don’t use the bottom of the sleeping bag so why take it? Since your body smashes the insulation underneath you beyond the point of usefulness there is no point in carrying twice the insulation you need or use.

2. Customization: Even if you’re not handy at sewing you can always find someone who would be willing to make a custom quilt, giving you exactly the features you want and none of the features you don’t. Also this usually means you can get it in a custom size. Which for someone who is significantly shorter (or taller) than the norm, like me, you could get your weight down even further by cutting out extra material you’re not using anyway.

4. Better temperature control: It does take some practice to get your system to the point where you can confidently take it out and get it right every time, but with a little planning and the right equipment for you you can get a whole new level of usefulness out of your system without having to buy two or three separate bags for backpacking. By using the insulation you’re already wearing on your body to bolster a quilt’s temperature rating you can get a bag to be good much lower than it would be by itself without carrying anything extra.

5. Great for Side Sleepers: This is probably my favorite reason of all. I’m not just a side sleeper who can’t fall asleep on my back at all, I’m also a wiggler. I can sleep in any position and wiggle all I like in a quilt and I’m much less likely to end up waking up cold or tied into a knot, and woke up cold or from a claustrophobic fit. Also it’s lots easier to stay on a sleeping pad when you don’t have a slick sleeping bag in between.

And those are the top 5 reasons I love a quilt! What’s yours?

ASMR University

The Art & Science of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

Lady Light Travel

Women's travel with a single carry on. Tutorials, packing tips & techniques, clothing ideas, and more!

What A Ride

Navigating the peaks and valleys of this crazy, beautiful life

Adventure with The Triumphant Trio

Oh the places we will go

UL Gear Blog

- ultralight backpacking gear reviews

eastwestfarm

After 4 plus years of leasing a small house on a patch of land 20 miles outside of Atlanta, we moved 80 miles to our Forever homestead.

Home Yoga Practice

Merging into the divine sound form that is beyond time, space, and matter

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

GearToons

Hiking gear reviews for hikers with short attention spans.

GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Intentionally Small

exploring small spaces and simple living

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Loneoaks Ramblings

On going Hiking Adventures

Paddle In

New Journeys, Old Traditions

Catalyst Strength & Wellness

Strength Begins With Breaking

CouchtoCDT

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) Northbound in 2013- sharing my preparation for the hike and my day to day experience while I'm on the trail. Inspiring people to follow their dreams.

smackpacker.com

ultralight backpacking gear reviews, trail reports, wisdom and smack

Esoteric Hyperbole

Musings, Rants, Ponderings

living extraordinary small

compact living with responsible design

The Lazy Homesteader

The latest dirt from the Schell Urban Homestead

My Charming Beauty

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Randy's Outside Blog

Let's Go Hiking

Off the Couch and On the Trail

Preparing for Our 2013 AT Thru-Hike

Camp Smarts

Life in the outdoors

Imagine It's Finished

Ramblings of a Frustrated Overachiever

patagonian dreams

live your dream, share your passion

grizanderson

...from the middle of nowhere

The Not So Empty Nest...

join me in my transition

50 years of walking

Into the 6th decade!

Bedrock & Paradox

I dream of a hard and brutal mysticism in which the naked self merges with a non-human world and yet somehow survives still intact, individual, separate. Paradox and bedrock.

Fat Man of the Mountains

Combining three favorite pastimes: writing, hiking and running, slowly.

Things To Luc At

Wilderness Safety & Alaskan Adventure

Minimalist Meg

one Megan on a mission.

Fat Eagle Scout

A journey into shape and back outdoors

Wilderness Backpacking Blog

A guide to backpacking in the wilderness

Not Molly

Rebelling in Very Small Ways

Ray Anderson

Speculative Fiction and hiking

Stick's Blog

Trip reports, gear reviews, and anything else "Ultralight" backpacking...